Signing of the Memorandum of Understanding with Costa Rica

On 7 December 2022 a Memorandum of Understanding got signed between the Ministry of Science, Innovation, Technology and Telecommunications (MICITT) representing the Government of Costa Rica and the Information System Authority of the Republic of Estonia (RIA), the implementer of the EU CyberNet. 

The Ministry of Science, Innovation, Technology and Telecommunications (MICITT) exercises the leadership of the science, innovation, technology, and telecommunications sector of Costa Rica, and is responsible for leading and coordinating cybersecurity policies in the country, also has the Computer Security Incident Response Center.

During the high-level signing ceremony taking place in San José at La Casa Amarilla of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Worship, the MoU was also signed by Witnesses of Honour – Stephan Brunner Neibig, First Vice-President of the Republic of Costa Rica; Brian Glynn, General Director of the Americas of the European External Action Service and Félix Fernández-Shaw, Director of Latin America and the Caribbean of the Directorate General for International Partnerships of the European Commission

The purpose of this MoU is to reflect the intentions of the parties to coordinate the international cooperation activities of the EU CyberNet project and the Latin America and Caribbean Cyber Competence Centre (LAC4) and its activities, together with the Ministry of Science, Innovation, Technology and Telecommunications of the Republic of Costa Rica, as a point of contact for the Central American region.

The parties to the MoU agree to collaborate in supporting cyber capacity building through the LAC4 initiative in Costa Rica as well as facilitating cross-border collaboration and joint training initiatives in the Central American region.


First picture from left: Félix Fernández Shaw (INTPA), Carlos Alvarado Briceño (MICITT), Lydia Peralta Cordero (MFA), Liina Areng (LAC4, EU CyberNet), Stephen Brunner Neibig (vice-president), Brian Glynn (EEAS)